Chennai Super Kings in IPL: 8 finals in 10 seasons

first_imgChennai Super Kings (CSK) made history on Friday by reaching their 8th IPL final after they beat Delhi Capitals by 6 wickets in Qualifier 2 in Vizag. No other team has featured in as many finals – Mumbai Indians lying a distant 2nd with 4 final appearances. Curiously, these 2 teams have faced each other in 3 finals already and come May 12, they will be slugging it out for the trophy once again – for a record 4th time.Coming back to CSK’s record in IPL finals, it’s one of the rare statistics regarding their IPL history where they find themselves in a slightly disadvantageous position. In the 7 finals that CSK have played, they have emerged winners thrice (2010, 2011 and 2018) while ending as runners-up on 4 separate [email protected] reach their 8th #VIVOIPL final, what a team #CSKvDC (@IPL) May 10, 2019Here is an account of how CSK have fared in each of their IPL finals:1. 2008: CSK vs Rajasthan Royals, MumbaiIn the inaugural edition of the IPL, CSK started as favourites against the underdogs – Shane Warne’s Royals. But the narrative changed soon as Man of the match Yusuf Pathan picked up 3 wickets to restrict Dhoni’s men to 163, before bludgeoning his way to a match-winning 56 to bring home his side’s maiden and till date, only IPL trophy.2. 2010: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, MumbaiRiding on Man of the match Suresh Raina’s 57 not out, CSK posted a respectable 168/5 batting first. In reply, even though skipper Sachin Tendulkar (48) held up one end, the rest of the batsmen couldn’t provide enough support to the legend, culminating in a 22-run defeat for the Blue Brigade and a maiden title for CSK.advertisement3. 2011: CSK vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, ChennaiCSK returned to their 3rd IPL final as overwhelming favourites, but this time they lived to tell the tale. Helped by Man of the match Murali Vijay’s 95 and Michael Hussey’s 63, CSK posted a huge total of 205/5 which proved too much for Daniel Vettori’s team as R Ashwin’s tweakers brought CSK a 58-run victory and their 2nd title win.4. 2012: CSK vs Kolkata Knight Riders, ChennaiEven though a Suresh Raina masterclass – 73(38) – propelled CSK to 190/3, KKR, who were high on momentum late in the season, finsihed the chase with 2 balls to spare. The now-forgotten Manvinder Bisla (89), who was adjudged the Man of the match, and Jacques Kallis (69) played starring roles in KKR’s long-awaited triumph.5. 2013: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, KolkataMan-of-the-match Kieron Pollard (60) almost single-handedly took MI to 148/9 after compatriot Dwayne Bravo had rocked the Mumbai innings with 4 wickets. But MI survived a late onslaught from MS Dhoni (63*) to win by 23 runs – almost an identical margin as the 2010 final.6. 2015: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, KolkataMumbai posted a huge total of 202/5 helped by Man of the match Rohit Sharma’s whirlwind 50 off 26 balls. The target proved too much for Dhoni’s men as they were able to muster only 161/8 with Mitchell McClenaghan (3/25) being the chief destroyer.7. 2018: CSK vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, MumbaiAfter being sidelined into wilderness for 2 years following the spot-fixing scandal, CSK had a few points to prove as they returned to the biggest stage of the IPL. Yusuf Pathan once again threatened to spoil CSK’s night when his 45 off 25 balls boosted SRH’s total to 178. But thanks to Man of the match Shane Watson’s 51-ball-century, CSK finished the chase off in style, with 9 balls to spare, thus bringing down curtains on an emotional 6 weeks for the side.But till date, CSK remains the only IPL side to have defended their crown – something they will take inspiration from when they take the field on May 12.Also Read | We are in the final because of our bowlers: MS Dhoni after CSK beat DC in Qualifier 2Also Read | Chennai Super Kings crush Delhi Capitals, storm into 8th IPL finallast_img